Notices
  • Parking at UQ: On weekends, Public Holidays, and Special University Holidays parking is free in all casual and permit parking areas, including the multi-level car parks at St Lucia (UQ Parking).

Looking Ahead

There are no conferences or lectures scheduled at this time.

Past Events in 2010

November

Christmas Luncheon Sunday November 28
Christmas Luncheon
The Ancient Greeks on Stage Sunday November 7
The Ancient Greeks on Stage by Prof. Trevor Bryce.

October

Cultural History of the Greeks: Keynote Session Friday October 22
Cultural History of the Greeks: Keynote Session
Public Lecture | Banking and Credit Operations in the Ancient Greek World Sunday October 17
Public Lecture | Banking and Credit Operations in the Ancient Greek World by Dr Vincent Gabrielsen.
Blood on the Blade: Some Thoughts on the Skilled Surgery of the 1st Century Sunday October 3
Blood on the Blade: Some Thoughts on the Skilled Surgery of the 1st Century by Dr John Ratcliffe.

September

Public lecture | War Memorials as Public Art in Ancient Greece Wednesday September 22
Public lecture | War Memorials as Public Art in Ancient Greece by Dr Amelia Brown.
Art in Roman Britain Sunday September 12
Art in Roman Britain by Dr Dorothy Watts.
The Roman Electorate and the Introduction of the Secret Ballot Sunday September 12
The Roman Electorate and the Introduction of the Secret Ballot by Mr Steven Cosnett.

August

Friday August 6
Public Lecture | A Day in the Life of Pompeii by Prof. Frank Sear.
16th Annual Ancient History Day Friday August 6
16th Annual Ancient History Day

July

Tyrants and Tyrannicides Sunday July 4
Tyrants and Tyrannicides by Professor Alastair Blanshard.
Public Reading of Virgil's "Georgics" Saturday July 3
Public Reading of Virgil's "Georgics"
Friday July 2
Greek and Latin Examinations

June

Archangels and Archaeology Sunday June 6
Archangels and Archaeology by Dr Geoff Ginn.
Bound Statues in Pausanias Sunday June 6
Bound Statues in Pausanias by Ms Suzanne Kortlücke.

May

Sexually Ambiguous Imagery in Ancient Cyprus Sunday May 2
Sexually Ambiguous Imagery in Ancient Cyprus by Sandra Christou.